Shop
© ©ortovox / Hansi Heckmair, Aletsch Bahnen AG

Free time | Winter sports | Individual offer

Avalanche training (ATC)

  • Bettmeralp

Avalanche Training Center (ATC) – practise using an avalanche transceiver and avalanche probe

An avalanche transceiver and an avalanche probe are a must for off-piste skiing! But using them both to search for people buried by an avalanche takes practice: you’ll only have the chance to locate people buried by the avalanche quickly and so save lives if you can operate the devices proficiently!

At the ATC Avalanche Training Center in the Aletsch Arena, you can practise your avalanche search and rescue techniques during the winter season. The 150m2 site, prepared with buried transmitters, is located directly next to the Bättmer Hitta. It is easy to get to on skis, snowboard, snowshoes or on foot and can be used free of charge. You can program the number of buried transmitters (1–5) and the search time (max. 20 minutes) yourself to learn how to search for people covered by snow.

Contact details
Aletsch Bahnen AG
Hauptstrasse 12
3992 Bettmeralp
Phone: +41 27 928 41 41

www.aletscharena.ch
If you don’t have your own avalanche transceiver equipment, you can borrow avalanche transceivers and probes free of charge at the Bättmer Hitta on presentation of an identity document.

All dates

  • Saturday, 17.12.2022
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Sunday, 18.12.2022
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Monday, 19.12.2022
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Tuesday, 20.12.2022
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Sunday, 01.01.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Monday, 02.01.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Tuesday, 03.01.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Wednesday, 04.01.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Wednesday, 01.02.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Thursday, 02.02.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Friday, 03.02.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Saturday, 04.02.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Wednesday, 01.03.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Thursday, 02.03.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Friday, 03.03.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Saturday, 04.03.2023
    09:00 to 16:00
  • Saturday, 01.04.2023
    09:00 to 16:00

Here the offer takes place

Bättmer-Hitta
3992 Bettmeralp
Schweiz

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.